Parent Association

Every Parent is a Member

Welcome to the 40th anniversary of Canterbury School. The 2017-2018 school year represents Canterbury’s “ruby anniversary.” As it states in Proverbs, “Wisdom is more precious than rubies and nothing you desire can compare to her.” That, my friends, is why we invest in the future of our children and send them to Canterbury every day for an extraordinary education and the procurement of precious wisdom.

Canterbury is a school rich not only in wisdom, but also in history and tradition. Volunteerism is a defining tradition at Canterbury. It is also a great way to meet other parents in a fun and relaxed setting. No matter what grade your child is in or what your schedule is like, there are volunteer opportunities for you. Our goal is to have 100% parent participation in volunteer activities. If you are not sure about the commitment involved, please reach out to me or any of the Steering Committee Members for additional information.

Remember, as a parent, you are automatically a member of the Parent Association, so this responsibility and unique opportunity falls to each of us. The best way to volunteer is to submit the online form or to respond to specific requests as they come up throughout the school year via email and the Morning Update.

Canterbury School’s history is also filled with change. And, that is a good thing! As Ben Franklin said, “When you're finished changing, you're finished.” Changes are coming to the Parent Association as well. This year, the traditional 8:30 a.m., Thursday morning meetings will be principally for Steering Committee members, where recently completed and upcoming events will be planned and discussed.

In an attempt to make the actual Parent Association meetings more meaningful and to increase attendance, we will start a series tentatively titled “Parent Association Presents…” These meetings take place primarily in the evening and we may also have a brown bag lunch session. Topics will be announced in advance of the meetings.

I look forward to working with you this “ruby year” as we continue to create an amazing history, navigate change and help our children to gain precious wisdom. Please do not hesitate to call, email or stop me in the hall if you have any questions or concerns that I can address.


Tim Durnell
Parent Association President


Tim Durnell, President

Beth Behrendt, Vice President

Jessica Sharpe, Secretary

Shannon Langmaid, Treasurer

Cynthia Kent, Advisor

Early Childhood Representatives
Jennifer Runyan (a.m.)
Chelcey Glassley (p.m.)

Lower School Representatives
David Coble
Dima Mourad

Middle School Representatives
Cathy Diamente
Sara Ayres Craig

High School Respresentatives
Trish Bugajski
Amanda Kinneman

Carpool Rep
Cyndie Mitchell

Friends of the Faculty
Nicole Langel (EC)
Flo Bear, Judi Mathieson (LS)
Nicole Lawson (MS)
Judy Zacher, Marsha Bormann (HS)

Cavalier Clothing Company
Natalie Chenoweth
Lisa Lindzy
Angie Wing

Krista Layman
Carrie Yarram

Plant and Flower Show
Michelle Daniels
Erin Erb

Thanksgiving Feast
Jennifer Shaw
Jill Surendran

Plant Sales
Pat Gillan

Jingle Bell Boutique
Aryn Fryy
Ashlie Straka
Ronald Norlund

Sock Hop
Heather Bauer
Marcia Presser

Events Committee
Heather Backs
Kristin Pine

SCRIP Program
Courtney Dressler
Cindy Hauze

Collections (Box Tops, etc.)
Jeannette Tanner
Andrea Ogubi

School Supply Kits
Christine Watt

Spring Book Fair Coordinator
Helen Presser, with
Deb Williams, Bonnie Niemann
Gretchen Lee - Book Selection
Kristin Valcarcel - Volunteers
Shaunna MInnick - Volunteers
Marcia Presser - Bistro Lunch
Beth Behrendt - Gallery Guests
Treasurer - Laura Wallstrom
In-house Publications - Sabrina Minser
Marketing - Karen Belcher

Head of School
Bill Ennist


7:00 p.m. November 14
7:00 p.m. February 7
Noon April 20


8:30 a.m. September 14
8:30 a.m. October 26
8:30 a.m. January 18
8:30 a.m. March 8
8:30 a.m. May 24


Canterbury’s Parent Association includes the parents of every Canterbury School student, from Early Childhood through High School. The association supports educational programs and extracurricular activities in a spirit of cooperation and camaraderie. With volunteer opportunities to accommodate every schedule, the Parent Association coordinates parental involvement in school functions and honors parents as the backbone of the Canterbury community.