Canterbury Chess Champions


Canterbury had 19 students who qualified for the SCI Indiana State Individual Championships, held in Indianapolis on January 27.

Harvey Hanke (Grade 4) was crowned Elementary State Champion for the second year in a row and won the Brian Yamin Scholarship ($1000). Hanke will be Indiana's representative for the Rockefeller Tournament of State Champions held later this year in Norfolk, VA.

Top ten finishers from other divisions included:

Riley McCulloch (Grade 12)--2nd Place, High School Junior Varsity Section

Jayden Chen (Grade 3)--4th Place, Third Grade and Under Division

Benji Joseph (Grade 7)--5th Place, Middle School Championship Division

Jason Zhang (Grade 7)--8th Place, Middle School Championship Division

14 other Canterbury students were qualifiers for this event and competed well:

Vivek Apuri (Grade 9)
Henry Liu (Grade 7)
Charlie Bolt (Grade 7)
Vishnu Aluri (Grade 7)
Mohamed Elhassan (Grade 6)
Vikas Rajaram (Grade 5)
Angad Chauhan (Grade 5)
Nathan Nwankwo (Grade 4)
Julian Freeland (Grade 2)
Eliana Nwankwo (Grade 1)
Nandika Rajaram (Grade 1)
Norah Keil (Grade 1)
Adrian Smith (Grade 1)
Joaquin Smith (Grade 1)